Reviews

What people are saying about Harbour View Hotel




.short break - Rating 4/5

Excellent,very friendly.. Car parking awkward but difficult to improve.

Reviewer:Sheila A | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


relaxing stay - Rating 4/5

we had a realxing stay at the Harbour View (St Augustine Villa) Hotel.Our room was clean and spacious with fantastic views of the sea.The owner was very pleasant and the fact that there was no breakfast didn't matter as we found a gem in the Two Cooks Cafe... but there was a lot more choice in walking distance.

Reviewer:Louise P | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


Brilliant ! - Rating 5/5

Just about the best location in Ventnor with easy access to all that the village has to offer - seaside on the doorstep and the village centre a VERY short walk up the road next to the hotel.Bob and Esme are excellent hosts and their relaxed approach makes for a hassle-free stay.No shortage of good quality dining venues nearby ranging from great breakfasts to 'fine dining' and everything in between. (Although we were strangely drawn back to the Spyglass Inn a few times!).The hotel itself was absolutely spotless, every facility in the room actually worked as it should and the bed was very comfortable with quality bed linen. We had room 7 with great sea views and even a small leather settee by one of the windows to sit and enjoy staring out over the Solent. And the pricing? .... very reasonable so great value all round.Highly recommended ... as you have probably guessed by now :-)

Reviewer:David C | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


Grandeur and charm - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant hotel with great style although a bit aged (which somehow adds to its undeniable charm). "Grand"bedroom with view of the sea and warm welcome. Beautiful linen and spotless cleanliness. Very convenient place and nice little fishing village. A definite stopover!

Reviewer:Brigitte l | Tue 28th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Wou stay ag- Rating 5/5

We had a perfect stay .very clean lovely area and great location. Good shower and comfortable bed wo recommend this accommodation.

Reviewer:Paul W | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Great break, thank you- Rating 5/5

Great view from room 6 in the tower;lovely and peaceful with just the noise from the sea opposite. No breakfasts this year, but there is a good cafe less than 5 minutes walk away. An excellent base to explore this beautiful island.A very memorable holiday, thank you.

Reviewer:Andy H | Wed 11th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Just perfect - Rating 5/5

Bob and Esme are very welcoming and our 4 night stay was just what we needed.Our room was very comfortable, spotless and had a sea view.The hotel is perfectly situated and Ventnor is our favourite resort on the island.

Reviewer:Roger W | Sat 7th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Imposing position - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed a four night stay at St Augustine villa as others hotel is now called. Our room was comfortable and well maintained with everything we might need.We were East facing and overlooked the Winter gardens - this had the advantage of being cool later in the day when temperatures reached 26 degrees. It was unusually hot for June, so we did not mind that South facing Seaview rooms were booked up !A lovely stay in a Victorian property but with modern comforts. Thank you Bob and Esme.

Reviewer:Teresa W | Wed 27th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Large and comfortable with a great view out to sea. - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 2 nights using it as a base to travel around the island. The building is a large Victorian villa, there is a small car park. The hotel overlooks the sea and its worth paying for a room with a sea view. Our deluxe room was large and comfortable with a great view out to sea. There is free WiFi and Sky TV. During our stay the hotel couldn’t provide breakfast but they did let us know beforehand, it wasn’t a problem to us. The two owners were very nice people and helpful. Point to note is that there are step stairs to the rooms so it may not be suitable for people who are not very mobile.

Response

This is a fantastic review.Thank you and, we would look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewer:E | Thu 19th Apr 2018 | 8 months ago


Clean and comfortable - Rating 4/5

Location is good and affordable. Within walking distance to the waterfront. Check in was easy. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Towels, hair dryer, mini fridge, coffee-tea making facilities, bottled water are provided. On every floor there is a room with ironing facilities, so no worries about that crumpled shirt or pants. The buffet breakfast spread is not a wide range but enough to fill our stomachs. And tasty too. So for the budget conscious traveller who wants a comfortable room to sleep in so he can be energised for the next day's tour, Harbour View Hotel is a good choice.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review

Reviewer:Josephine M | Sat 17th Mar 2018 | 9 months ago


exellent location and service - Rating 5/5

we stayed for 4 nights, we chose this hotel due to the reviews and location. the hotel has an old feel to it, but the rooms are very spacious and modern.Breakfast was very good and the service was brilliant. onsite parking and a stroll up the hill to the little town or down the hill to the esplanade. nice restaurants nearby and a nice pub at the end of the esplanade.good location for visiting other parts of the island too.

Reviewer:veronica o | Sun 1st Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


view to die for :) - Rating 5/5

room was spotless with an outstanding view and a superb breakfast to start your day.was made to feel welcome with an top service all round,nothing was to much trouble...would definitely recommend. excellent hosts....

Reviewer:steve t | Tue 8th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


The perfect getaway..- Rating 5/5

This place is the most stunning spot.. beautiful views mixed with old fashioned delights.. the owners couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was perfect.. and finally breakfast in the gorgeous breakfast room just finalised the perfect stay..

Reviewer:Nikki G | Sun 30th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


A wonderfully relaxing break. - Rating 5/5

St. Augustine Villa, in the hands of friendly and expert hosts Bob and Esme provides the perfect spot to relax and unwind.

Reviewer:Mr. Andy C | Fri 21st Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Beautiful accommodation and lovely hosts. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Ms. Tina C | Thu 20th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Faultless. - Rating 5/5

A wonderful place, in an exceptional setting. Esme & Bob provide exceptional hospitality, comfortable rooms in with marvellous sea vuews well placed for everything Ventbor has to offer.

Reviewer:Mr H K | Wed 28th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

A lovely clean, relaxed and friendly hotel . Close to beach and restaurants

Reviewer:Mr. Allen P | Wed 21st Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


3 night stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed in the Tower Room - wonderful views. Both room and ensuite bathroom below very neat and clean. Good breakfast, which was served in the conservatory, that also has lovely sea views.Would definitely stop again.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard P | Fri 2nd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely Hotel with lovely sea View - Rating 5/5

We totally enjoyed our stay, from the minute we stepped in we felt so much welcomed. Great environment, great food and lovely sea view. We stayed in room 6 which has 3 windows with 3 lovely views

Reviewer:Mr. Harrison D | Wed 5th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


As good as ever - Rating 5/5

We have stayed here a few times over recent years and our experience has been consistently good - our visit a few days ago was no exception. Esme and Bob are very welcoming, friendly and helpful hosts. Breakfasts served in the conservatory are great with wonderful views out to sea. We always choose a sea facing room and as with the conservatory the views out over Ventnor harbour are superb. Lying in bed with the sounds of the sea coming in through the windows is most relaxing.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith A | Mon 3rd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


A Warm welcome - Rating 5/5

Without doubt I would stay here again.You will get a very warm welcome from Esme and Bob, the owners, who have a lovely home.The rooms are very comfortable with everything you need and there is so much choice at breakfast,freshly cooked when you come down. The view is stunning so an ideal location to boot.

Reviewer:Ms. Sandra M | Wed 28th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We booked the tower room with the bathroom down the stairs. It gave us lovely views and we enjoyed the novelty. The service was excellent from wonderful hosts. Overall it was a pleasant comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert H | Sun 25th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


My weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Best welcome I have ever had.The owner actually came to the door in the middle of the night and called me by my name. Wow !!!First time I felt at home away from home.I think its the best place to stay on the island.I recommend St Augustine Villa for beautiful room, well decorated and comfort. Better then some large hotels

Reviewer:Mr. Pravin M | Tue 30th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Short stay at St Augustine Villa - Rating 4/5

We stayed for three nights and were blessed with wonderful weather for our short stay in Ventnor.The room was really lovely and the sea views from the bedroom windows were stunning. It was great just sitting by the window and staring out to sea.Esme was a great host and very attentive at breakfast time. It was a great base for visiting other parts of the island,either through the lovely walks or via the great bus service. Also Steephill Cove is about thirty-minutes walk from the hotel and not to be missed.Would definitely recommend staying at St Augustine.Dave Manser

Reviewer:Mr. David M | Mon 25th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Seaview! - Rating 5/5

We had a great time as always.Fantastic room and made to feel very welcome.Breakfast is delicious!

Reviewer:Mrs. Mary S | Wed 6th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Wifi
  • Gay Friendly
  • Luxury